Six Word Stories

AdobeStock_107749009.jpegIt’s Day 22 of the Get Stuff Done 1×31 Challenge. Today’s challenge is short and sweet. However, it will require reflection and a precise use of words. Today I’d like you to summarize your week in six words that tell a whole story.

Can you succinctly summarize your week?

By Friday nights, I’m usually fried. But I also like to look back on the week and ask myself what I’ve done, learned, regretted, or just didn’t see coming that catapulted me out of my comfort zone.

Just as learning to sketch things throughout the day invites me to look at the world differently, using six words to tell a story expresses the essence of an experience.

Last year for Community College Month we challenged our students to come up with six word stories. The results surprised and amazed us. So much said in so little.

You are up to the task. This will certainly spark your creativity. So let’s give it a try.

If you insist, I’ll go first. (Actually, I’ve been sprinkling six word sentences throughout this post already. Just check the last six sentences. Or anything in italics or bold.)

  • Puppy preparedness has preempted regular writing.

Or here’s a quick review of the restaurant we just came from.

  • Does scrumptious food trump questionable service?

Do you see how it works?  Now it’s your turn. You can definitely do this in 5-15 minutes.

Or if six words are entirely too few to express all that needs to be said, check out fellow blogger Edward Road’s eloquent posts at www.mytwosentences.com.

Share your stories in the comments below or email them to me at penny@wellpower.com.

 

Leave a comment